Bread and Cheese…….

When we were at Corfe I got the chance to see some bread made over the campfire. I’ve tried this in the past (and it worked quite well) but I was interested to see how other re-enactors made theirs.
The bread recipe I had tried in the past had used equal quantities of spelt and barley flour mixed with a little oil ( I used olive oil) and then I added some water or milk to make a dough.
After mixing thoroughly, I made flat-breads and cooked them on the griddle over the camp-fire. Served with smoked mackerel it made a delicious breakfast!!
The recipe I used is pretty close to the one described in this blog (in the section about Baking without Yeast).

At Corfe, we were lucky to be camped beside some members from Manaraefan.  These guys have great experience doing living history displays, so I figured I’d pick their brains.
I was delighted to see that they made their bread in a similar way, except they added a little yeast to allow the bread to rise, and some roasted garlic to add a little flavour.

1-DSCF3439The bread was delicious – but then again I love freshly baked bread. And another treat; another member of the group had made a Blue Cheese Spread to go with the bread, Unfortunately I didn’t write the recipe down, but from memory it was equal quantities of butter and blue cheese; cream the butter until smooth and then add the cheese.

I’m definitely going to try this again at the next show we go to. The roasted garlic sounds wonderful; I love garlic bread with cheese – viking pizza!!

One thought on “Bread and Cheese…….”

Leave a Reply

