Where to start?!!

I guess it all began when I met Bob!

When we met he forgot to mention he was a viking re-enactor! He asked did I want to join him and his friends in their adventures! ‘Fine’, I said, ‘but I ain’t doing fancy dress!!’

Before long I realised there was more fun to be had in ‘fancy dress’ than sitting on the sidelines. So I asked a friend to make me some viking clothes and next thing I was having a viking wedding at sunset on a beach at Moesgard in Denmark! Wonderful memory…….

Time went by, and a friend decided to show me how to Nalbind. That’s viking looped  knitting to you and me…………
I agreed and we spent a weekend in her tent awning at Birr Castle with Audhild teaching me. Great fun  – from there I read everything I could about nalbinding and taught myself more of the stitches. Someone asked if my wool was naturally dyed? No but I though I could try that too!

That was three years ago – and now I find myself looking at plants with a different perspective. Not that they are pretty or things like that……. now I want to chop them up and put them in my dye pot!!! And the weeds that had a been a bane when I loved gardening are now my specials that give glorious colours!

Been a great journey so far and looking forward to seeing where it takes me next……..

One thought on “Where to start?!!”

  1. Hi Viking Lady Aine,
    love your blog, read a whole lot of it tonight, I am interested in spinning and the history of Spinning, especially history of spinning in Ireland and in Scandinavia (lived in Sweden for a few years). What are the spindles made from that the ladies use at your Viking re-enactment days, a wooden stick with a whorl of wood? stone?
    what is the authentic Viking way to prep the wool, did the Vikings have combs or carders or did they use the heads of the Teasel plant, or something else? just wondering… if you have a link to somewhere I could read about it that would be great!
    ta
    barazile

Leave a Reply

